Forums temporarily locked down! Please read!

Author Topic: Trouble opening Espionage 2 folder after Mavericks/Espionage 3 upgrade  (Read 3553 times)

twobikeminimum

  • Script Kiddie
  • ***
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Hello.

I've recently upgraded to Mavericks and Espionage 3. I uninstalled Espionage 2 but now am at a loss as to how to restore my encrypted folder in E3. The folder is on a flash drive, which now has a sparsebundle file--the result, I assume, of the uninstall process? In any case, the help manual is not very helpful with regard to how to do this. I also have a backup and could restore from that, but again, there aren't any instructions on how to do this.

I assume all my data is still in tact, but how do I access it?

Thanks in advance!
David

greg

  • Administrator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 898
    • View Profile
    • http://www.taoeffect.com
Re: Trouble opening Espionage 2 folder after Mavericks/Espionage 3 upgrade
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2013, 12:01:07 AM »
Dear David,

I've recently upgraded to Mavericks and Espionage 3. I uninstalled Espionage 2 but now am at a loss as to how to restore my encrypted folder in E3. The folder is on a flash drive, which now has a sparsebundle file--the result, I assume, of the uninstall process?

If Espionage 2 failed to restore the folder it will have left you the disk image. You can follow these instructions to copy the files out of it:

http://www.taoeffect.com/espionage/EspionageHelp/pages/trbl-restoring.html

Quote
I also have a backup and could restore from that, but again, there aren't any instructions on how to do this.

They're in Espionage 2's help, also online here:

https://www.taoeffect.com/espionage/EspionageHelp/pages/usg-restore_timemachine.html

If any of that doesn't help let me know!
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news!

greg

  • Administrator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 898
    • View Profile
    • http://www.taoeffect.com
Re: Trouble opening Espionage 2 folder after Mavericks/Espionage 3 upgrade
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2013, 12:04:39 AM »
Quote
The folder is on a flash drive, which now has a sparsebundle file

Note that you can also simply drag that sparsebundle onto Espionage 3's window. :)

If, however, after unlocking it, the folder becomes invisible, then you'll need to use a utility like our free Cloak software (related blog post).
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news!

greg

  • Administrator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 898
    • View Profile
    • http://www.taoeffect.com
Re: Trouble opening Espionage 2 folder after Mavericks/Espionage 3 upgrade
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2013, 02:16:48 AM »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news!

twobikeminimum

  • Script Kiddie
  • ***
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble opening Espionage 2 folder after Mavericks/Espionage 3 upgrade
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2013, 06:31:57 PM »
Greg, thanks for the advice. (I was out-of-town at a conference for a few days and am now just getting back to addressing this issue.)

I'm going through the Mavericks upgrade guide but cannot open iVisible; I'm getting an error message saying that the software comes from an unidentified developer. Any way around this?

Thanks,
David

greg

  • Administrator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 898
    • View Profile
    • http://www.taoeffect.com
Re: Trouble opening Espionage 2 folder after Mavericks/Espionage 3 upgrade
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2013, 06:53:30 PM »
Greg, thanks for the advice. (I was out-of-town at a conference for a few days and am now just getting back to addressing this issue.)

I'm going through the Mavericks upgrade guide but cannot open iVisible; I'm getting an error message saying that the software comes from an unidentified developer. Any way around this?

Thanks,
David

Yes, you can temporarily disable Gatekeeper: Open up System Preferences > Security & Privacy > General > Allow apps downloaded from: Anywhere.
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news!

twobikeminimum

  • Script Kiddie
  • ***
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble opening Espionage 2 folder after Mavericks/Espionage 3 upgrade
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2013, 08:33:33 PM »
Ugh... I'm out of answers.

I've tried moving my folder to Espionage 3 but I can't open it. I've tried so many times that I have multiple folders and sparsebundles scattered across several drives; at this point all I want to do is recover my information so I can at least save it somewhere else. Right now, I think I have my folder in Espionage 3. When I unlock it, the folder just shows the three folder images with the message(s): "This folder contains encrypted data / It is controlled by Espionage etc." In Espionage 2, I unlocked a folder and could easily access the contents; in this latest version I'm not sure where those contents are anymore. Plus, when I try to decrypt the folder I get an error message saying the operation could not complete.

Sorry to complain but this is frustrating and now I can't get at some very important information.

David

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble opening Espionage 2 folder after Mavericks/Espionage 3 upgrade
« Reply #7 on: November 01, 2013, 11:08:34 AM »
Hello David,
I would suggest opening the disk images directly rather then moving them into Espionage.
Here is the procedure I wrote a while ago:
I will paste it in full here:
- download the following software http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/24682/ivisible 
- launch it, and click on "make files visible" button (in case OS X does not allow to launch ivisible, you have to go to System Preferences -> Security & Privacy, click on padlock icon in lower left corner and authenticate, then under General Tab, under "Allow apps downloaded from" select anywhere, wait for confirmation window, and then try to launch iVisible again)
- now revisit the protected folder and you will see a disk image inside, named same as the folder name, but having a dot in front of the name
- dobleclick it, it should ask you for password, enter it, and the image will mount as a volume, like for example an USB stick would mount
- open it and you will access to all your files
- copy them out, unmount the volume and delete the protected folder containing the disk image you just opened

Let me know if you get stuck.

Rgds
Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

twobikeminimum

  • Script Kiddie
  • ***
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble opening Espionage 2 folder after Mavericks/Espionage 3 upgrade
« Reply #8 on: November 01, 2013, 08:13:26 PM »
Zsolt,

Thank you for the information. When I went back to the folder I'd mentioned earlier, I suddenly got a warning that the mountpoint was missing. I don't know what's going on. I have backups from Espionage 2 and a whole bunch of sparsebundle images from trying to convert the old folder to Espionage 3 so I'll just try and start all over again and see what happens.

I'll post an update if I have success!

Thanks for your time and patience.
David

twobikeminimum

  • Script Kiddie
  • ***
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble opening Espionage 2 folder after Mavericks/Espionage 3 upgrade
« Reply #9 on: November 01, 2013, 08:17:05 PM »
P.S. here's what I don't understand: the USB where I have my protected folder no long shows the "This folder contains encrypted data /" etc. messages. It's as if it's empty, yet when I get info on the USB there does, indeed, appear to be information stored there. Using iVisible revealed nothing. Hmm...

twobikeminimum

  • Script Kiddie
  • ***
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble opening Espionage 2 folder after Mavericks/Espionage 3 upgrade
« Reply #10 on: November 01, 2013, 08:25:33 PM »
I just tried opening the sparsebundle from my Espionage Backups folder (after showing invisible files) but for some reason it did not mount after I entered the password. Strange.

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Trouble opening Espionage 2 folder after Mavericks/Espionage 3 upgrade
« Reply #11 on: November 02, 2013, 06:54:27 AM »
Hello, can we have a remote session so I can sort this out for you.
I will be available most of the day today and tomorrow, just mail me at taoeffect@macmesupport.com with the time it suites you.
Rgds
Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support