Forums temporarily locked down! Please read!

Author Topic: Backups  (Read 1747 times)

socrates

  • H4X0r
  • ****
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Backups
« on: May 31, 2012, 07:23:17 PM »
How do the disk images in Espionage3 get backed up?
I know that time machine etc can be used, but does it matter if the relevant folder is locked or unlocked (and the disk image mounted)?

If the folder is unlocked, what gets backed up if you are using time machine? Is it the folder contents, unencrypted or just the disk image.

On a related question is it possible to unlock the disk image for the folder without using espionage e.g if there was some problem with espionage3? It was possible with espionage2 where you could enter the diskimage/folder password to unlock it
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Backups
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2012, 07:19:28 AM »
Hello,

The disk image can be backed up no matter it is locked or unlocked. There is a slight chance for invalid backup if the data is written to the folder at the very same moment the Backup is saving the image, but unless you use the folder for some continuously writing purpose, you should be fine.
The V3 does support custom location of the disk image, so in case you are using different location then the default Application Support/Espionage/Data, then make sure you backup that location too.

Re unlocking the image without Espionage, yes the possibility exists but you need to take some steps up front. The V3 automatically generates the password for each disk image. You can get this password for each folder by clicking on retrieve password button. So you should basically copy all the password out and store them in some super safe place, like some password management app.

I hope this answers you question(s)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

socrates

  • H4X0r
  • ****
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Backups
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2012, 09:12:30 AM »
Quote from: "zsolt"

The V3 does support custom location of the disk image, so in case you are using different location then the default Application Support/Espionage/Data, then make sure you backup that location too.


Thanks

Presumably, if using Time Machine default settings, everything will be backed up automatically without changing/selecting any options at all?

Quote from: "zsolt"

The disk image can be backed up no matter it is locked or unlocked. There is a slight chance for invalid backup if the data is written to the folder at the very same moment the Backup is saving the image, but unless you use the folder for some continuously writing purpose, you should be fine.


Another question: If the folder is kept unlocked most of the time and new data gets written to the folder, when does the disk image update/change to reflect this new data? Does it happen straight away? Or after a set time? Or do I need to lock the folder for the changes to be reflected in the disk image?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Backups
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2012, 01:58:56 PM »
Yes, TM will backup all folders on your internal drive unless you explicitly exclude it
The data is written to the disk image right away.

Hope this helps,

Zsolt
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support