Forums temporarily locked down! Please read!

Author Topic: Growl 2 doesn't recognize Espionage  (Read 1051 times)

dafacto

  • H4X0r
  • ****
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Growl 2 doesn't recognize Espionage
« on: February 04, 2014, 04:07:12 PM »
Hello,

After installing Espionage on my iMac, and seeing a few growl messages, I realized that I still had Growl 1.x installed on the machine.

I downloaded an installed Growl 2, and opened it. I then realized that Growl 1 was still running, so I disabled it's System Preference, and then control-clicked to remove the Preference pane.

I then logged out of my account, and back in (just in case Growl 1 might still be running).

Growl 2 launched and Espionage launched. However, I'm no longer seeing notifications at all coming from Espionage, and Espionage is not listed in Growl 2's Application list.

On my MacBook Air, which was running Growl 2 when I installed Espionage, I do see Espionage in its Applications list.

Would anyone know how I can force Espionage to become registered with Growl 2 on the iMac?

Thanks so much in advance.

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Growl 2 doesn't recognize Espionage
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2014, 06:23:13 AM »
Hello, I just tested it on a new Maverick, Espionage 3 was installed, I installed Growl 2, opened it, enabled the application notification and at this point the application list was empty. I left Growl running, just closed the prefs window.
I launched Espionage and then quit it.
Then I launched Growl prefs again, and Espionage was in the list of applications.

Does any application appear in the growl app list?

Rgds
Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

dafacto

  • H4X0r
  • ****
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Growl 2 doesn't recognize Espionage
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2014, 04:12:20 PM »
Yes, several apps appear in the Growl list. On my MacBook Air, where I also have Espionage installed, it appears in the Growl list there.

On the iMac, however, Espionage was previously sending its notifications (successfully) through Growl 1.x. When I realized, however, that 1.x was installed, I downloaded installed and launched Growl 2. I assumed that launching Growl 2, it would prompt me to remove the running 1.x; but it didn't. I then manually stopped and removed 1.x.

Then, after several combinations of starting and stopping Growl 2 and Espionage (in various orders), and even restarting the computer, Espionage is not appearing in the Growl 2 list.

Any ideas? Thanks.

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Growl 2 doesn't recognize Espionage
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2014, 04:38:02 PM »
No, no ideas here, I would direct you to Growl support.
I would delete the growl prefs files and make a fresh launch, at first the app list should appear empty upon first launch, if it does, this means that the prefs you deleted were the correct one. Then launch espionage and check if it appeared.

If I could reproduce it then I could help, otherwise I assume it is a Growl problem, or at least they can maybe tell us if they recognized Espionage as an app which can talk to them, or not.

Rgds
Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support