Forums temporarily locked down! Please read!

Author Topic: Password Prompt on Launch  (Read 1773 times)

dafacto

  • H4X0r
  • ****
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Password Prompt on Launch
« on: February 04, 2014, 03:59:09 PM »
Hello,

I have installed Espionage on my MacBook Air and on my iMac.

On my MBA, when I launch Espionage, I'm asked for a master password, even though I have no folders set for auto-unlock:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/c1vitduno4yywte/Screenshot%202014-02-04%2017.55.04.png

On my iMac, however, I am NOT prompted for a master password when I launch the app.

My preference is the iMac's behavior, where I only enter a password when I need to unlock a list. But I can't find any preference or setting in Espionage on the MBA which would seem to control that behavior.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Password Prompt on Launch
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2014, 06:20:47 AM »
Hello, so far we got no reports on this problem.
For a start, I would try to put all folders to auto unlock, relaunch Espionage, check if it auto unlocked all the folders, then uncheck the auto unlock on all folders and relaunch espionage again.

I know this does not seems like a professional suggestion, as if it helps, we will never know why it happened in the first place. If you prefer, then hold it there and I will ask developers if there is any file we can check for the status of the set flags.

Let me know your preference,

Rgds
Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

dafacto

  • H4X0r
  • ****
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Password Prompt on Launch
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2014, 04:21:02 PM »
Hello,

I followed your instructions, and re-enabled Auto-Unlock on all my folders. I then quit/re-launched Espionage. It asked me for the password, and opened all the folders. I then, disabled Auto-Unlock on all folders, quit and re-launched Espionage. Unfortunately, it again asked me for the password. :-(

Hopefully your developers can help. Thanks in advance.

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Password Prompt on Launch
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2014, 04:35:03 PM »
Ill check with them, and let you know.

Rgds
Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Password Prompt on Launch
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2014, 08:08:41 PM »
Hello, I got a response from devs. It is not possible to detect exactly which folder is set to auto unlock, but there is one property which will tell Espionage to ask for password on launch, here is how to get it,

launch terminal and run

defaults read com.taoeffect.Espionage3 TENeedsAutounlock

let me know if it says 1 or 0, then we try to take it from there.

Thanks
Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

dafacto

  • H4X0r
  • ****
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Password Prompt on Launch
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2014, 05:29:04 AM »
Hello, I ran that terminal command, and it returned, "1".

Currently, my folder list contains only two folders. Note, however, that since creating my folder list, I have added and removed some folders — and perhaps auto-unlock was set on some of those (I can't remember). So probably the bug is relating to removing a folder that has auto-unlock set.

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Password Prompt on Launch
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2014, 05:46:36 AM »
OK, so the first questions is: did you ever create folder sets, i.e. define one more password for Espionage, if you did, it might be that there is a folder set to auto unlock in that other folder set, could this be possible?

The other thing would be, to simply set the value to 0, and it will not ask for password any more, till you again set one folder to auto unlock. It might indeed be that in some combination of events the preferences were not updated correctly and the value remained on 1 for no good reason.

To set the value to 0 use

defaults write com.taoeffect.Espionage3 TENeedsAutounlock 0

Then try to launch Espionage for few times, see if it stays OK, then again try to set, unset some folders and see if it behaves (if you wish to play with this further).

Thanks for your feedback and time for testing.

Rgds
Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

dafacto

  • H4X0r
  • ****
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Password Prompt on Launch
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2014, 06:54:19 AM »
Ok, setting TENeedsAutounlock to 0 has resolved the problem.

BTW, I didn't have additional folder lists. So my suspicion is that there's a bug (or some condition) under which if a folder with auto-unlock enabled is deleted, the TENeedsAutounlock setting doesn't get updated.

Hope this helps, and thanks for your help as well!

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Password Prompt on Launch
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2014, 05:35:12 AM »
Well, what would really help is if you could reproduce it, then we could fix it.
If you run into the problem again, please let us know.

Rgds
Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

dafacto

  • H4X0r
  • ****
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Password Prompt on Launch
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2014, 03:52:39 PM »
I posted the steps to reproduce this in the other thread.

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Password Prompt on Launch
« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2014, 06:03:41 AM »
Reply from another post:

Indeed it is.
The auto unlock flag is not updated in case of folder decryption or "force removal from database" action.
I will let devs know and it will be fixed in next release, till then, if you forget to remove the auto unlock before decryption, first make sure you do not have any other folder set to auto unlock and then run the command
defaults write com.taoeffect.Espionage3 TENeedsAutounlock 0
from terminal, and this will reset the flag.
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support