Forums temporarily locked down! Please read!

Author Topic: Bizarre unlock code nightmare for brand new user  (Read 1165 times)

Iansc007

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Bizarre unlock code nightmare for brand new user
« on: October 05, 2013, 06:43:21 AM »
 :'(  :'(  :'(  :'(  :'(  :'(  :'(  :'(  :'(  :'(

I just purchased Espionage 3 (as part of a bundle) & installed Espionage 3 and despite not creating any unlock code am being asked to unlock the program before entering the unlock code (I tried double clicking on the license file I downloaded and I get asked to choose an application to open it with so with no other apparently sane or practical option I opened it with BBEdit).

How the Hell am I supposed to unlock Espionage 3 when I did not lock it and how the Hell am I to enter the license code when I can't do anything intelligible with the damn license file?

I have at least one decent alternative to this painful application, but it would be nice to think I had the option of being able to use it.

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Bizarre unlock code nightmare for brand new user
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2013, 03:33:58 PM »
Hello Ian, first, to look up your license file I would need your email address, you can send it to me as a private message if you do not want to publish it here.
Other then that, it is a bit hard to understand what went wrong.
When you launch Espionage for the first time it will ask you to set the master password. This is the password you will be using to unlock Espionage on subsequent launches, so that you have access to unlock/lock options for protected folders.
So maybe you misunderstood the set requirement thinking it is asking you to unlock it.
In any case, it is fairly simple to reset Espionage if you did not protect any folders so far, just quit Espionage, switch to FInder, hold down the option key, and select Library from the Finder's Go menu, once in LIbrary, navigate further to Application Support folder and then look for com.taeffect.Espionage3 folder, rename it to any other name.
Now launch Espionage and it will start from scratch, ie. it will ask you to set the password.

BTW, the license file is not supposed to be opened, instead, read the email the license file came with, for instructions how to apply the license file.

If you get stuck, just let me know.

Rgds
Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

Orchrist

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Bizarre unlock code nightmare for brand new user
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2013, 12:01:05 PM »
It might be helpful to note that if you had Espionage 2 installed, there is an Espionage folder in the library as well. This also needs to be renamed/removed to start from scratch.

greg

  • Administrator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 898
    • View Profile
    • http://www.taoeffect.com
Re: Bizarre unlock code nightmare for brand new user
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2013, 10:05:34 PM »
It might be helpful to note that if you had Espionage 2 installed, there is an Espionage folder in the library as well. This also needs to be renamed/removed to start from scratch.

I think there might have been a bug related to that with the initial release of version 3, but I think the latest version should work fine if the old folder is there. Of course to make sure to avoid any issues we do recommend first uninstalling the old version with its built-in uninstaller, and then running the new one.
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news!