Forums temporarily locked down! Please read!

Author Topic: Nightmare on version 3  (Read 1506 times)

balgenbruder

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Nightmare on version 3
« on: September 08, 2013, 09:57:28 AM »
I am completely lost in version 3.  :-[
Can someone pls. assist the software maybe secure but the handling is a nightmare to me.
Why do programmers have to reinvent the wheel on GUI always and come up with a square one then?

Obviously now when I encrypt a folder and then click on it it allows access but shows no content - CORRECT?
This was different in version 2 where the prog asked immediately for the password. But fine if it is so.
How do I delete in OSX now or remove the folder from Espionage?
I did not find this in FAQ?

I deleted one test folder in to trash after unlock and now -fantastic- I have a message mountpoint missing.
Well that wouldn't be too tragic if you just pls. allow to delete that folder with the missing mountpoint from the list.
However there is no menue AT ALL that I found where I can do that.

Summary:
Where's the beef in version 3 and why can I not put version 2 on ML?
Why does it have to be so complicated to remove folders from espionage?
And how do I get rid of the mountpoint say the encrypted image?

Best regards

Bernd

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Nightmare on version 3
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2013, 11:06:05 AM »
Hello Bernd,

Quote
Why do programmers have to reinvent the wheel on GUI always and come up with a square one then?
In good old days, Apple was very strict and very consistent about the GUI on Mac, but this was a long time ago, and Apple was the first to create mess, I have a dozen of stupid examples, but I do not want to bother you here. So as Apple took the liberty to mess with GUI, the devs do the same. Some users like this, some not. You obviously not, and this is OK too. If you do not like it, propose how would you like it and we will consider it for future versions.


Quote
Obviously now when I encrypt a folder and then click on it it allows access but shows no content - CORRECT?

Yes, in Espionage 3, a click on a protected folder does not trigger any action which would indicate that this folder is protected. You can even put some files into it when it is locked, they will sit there happily until you unlock the folder, then they will temporary disappear and be replaced with the real content, once you lock it, they will appear again.

Quote
How do I delete in OSX now or remove the folder from Espionage?

The first question I do not understand, you delete in OS X by moving items into trash...or what did you want to ask?
You remove a folder from espionage by right clicking onto it in the Espionage window, and selecting the appropriate option

Quote
I deleted one test folder in to trash after unlock and now -fantastic- I have a message mountpoint missing.

As mentioned above, to OS X this mountpoint folder is just a regular folder, so yes, you can trash it, and yes, Espionage will complain about that as it cannot present the protected data because there is no mountpoint it can present it through. You can either recreate it, or select a different folder for mount point, you do this by clicking onto small "i" near the folder in the Espionage main window, and use the mountpoint drop down menu.

Quote
Well that wouldn't be too tragic if you just pls. allow to delete that folder with the missing mountpoint from the list.
However there is no menue AT ALL that I found where I can do that.

To protect users from accidentally deleting data, the folder removal is possible only if the data can be decrypted into normal state, and this is not possible without mount point.
We had users requesting this to be possible to override, and it will be implemented in upcoming releases.

Quote
Where's the beef in version 3 and why can I not put version 2 on ML?
You can, Espionage 2 will run fine on ML. The only thing which will work unreliably is when you have some applications protected and select "reopen windows" on boot in ML, this might create problem as the app will try to reopen before Espionage loads, so it will not be able to react on the folder read attempt.

I hope I helped a bit, let me know if you have any further comments,

Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

balgenbruder

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Nightmare on version 3
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2013, 12:05:37 PM »
Thanks for the swift reply there is still confusion here - a lot I have to say.

You write:

The first question I do not understand, you delete in OS X by moving items into trash...or what did you want to ask?
You remove a folder from espionage by right clicking onto it in the Espionage window, and selecting the appropriate option


Well that would be nice, BUT what are the "appropriate" the options?
There are three options and the only valid to me would be:

FORCE REMOVE FROM DATABASE
if I click there I get:
SAVE AS: XXXXXX
WHERE: xxxxxx

In case I agree to save the sparsebundle I am getting the next - for me- now completely confusing message:

The password to 'NichtLoeschen' has been copied to the clipboard. Please paste it into a document IMMEDIATELY in case the disk image is recoverable.

Additionally, the password was written to a file on the Desktop just in case:

NichtLoeschen - PASSWORD (DELETE ME!).txt

Is there no user that wants a simple one click option REMOVE FOLDER AND DELETE SPARSEBUNDLE?
Why would I need the password if I remove a folder from the list of Espionage?
Why do I need to save a sparsebundle at a DIFFERENT location that is existing already at a location?

You see there are a lot of things - once again to me only - that do not make sense for easy use.

Looking forward to your reply

Bernd

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Nightmare on version 3
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2013, 01:16:23 PM »
Hello Bernd,

There are two options:
- decrypt the folder
- remove from database
considering the first option is quite clear, the second is basically "remove from Espionage without decrypting it"

But if you just remove it, then the data is lost. So to avoid data loss, we will provide you with the disk image containing the data, and the password to unlock the disk image.
Once you have it, and you do not need the data, you can simply delete the disk image and the saved text file.
This is the idea behind, just to make one extra step before the data is lost forever.

Rgds
Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

balgenbruder

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Nightmare on version 3
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2013, 01:23:24 PM »
So I cannot remove a folder from Espionage without data loss?
That does not make sense to me.

What if I decrypt the folder and then remove it from the database?


zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Nightmare on version 3
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2013, 01:45:14 PM »
You misunderstood it
If you want, we can make a remote session and I will clarify it all to you.
I'm available now for next 4 hours.

Rgds
Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support