Forums temporarily locked down! Please read!

Author Topic: Move folders between folder sets  (Read 1979 times)

olaf

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Move folders between folder sets
« on: May 31, 2012, 09:53:26 AM »
Hi,

is it possible to move a crypted folder from one folder set to another one, without decrypting first and crypting in the new folder set again?

Thanks, Olaf
« Last Edit: May 31, 2012, 02:05:41 PM by olaf »

greg

  • Administrator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 898
    • View Profile
    • http://www.taoeffect.com
Re: Move folders between folder sets
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2012, 05:07:57 PM »
Hi Olaf, sorry, there is no easy way to do this. One way that might be possible is to right-click on the disk image to force remove it from the database without restoring it, and then re-importing it back into Espionage by dragging the disk image onto it, but I really don't recommend doing it this way. If you decide to do it, I recommend moving the disk image into Espionage's data folder.

On 3.0.0 that folder is here:

Code: [Select]
~/Library/Application Support/Espionage/Data
On 3.0.1+ (to be released soon) it's here:

Code: [Select]
~/Library/Application Support/com.taoeffect.Espionage3/Data
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news!

Bernak

  • H4X0r
  • ****
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Move folders between folder sets
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2015, 04:22:42 PM »
Hello and sorry for reviving this old post from 2012, but I have exactly the same question.

Is there now in 2015 a new recommended way to move folders between folder sets?
I am reorganizing the sets and it could spare me a lot of time and allow me to try different combinations faster than decrypting and re-encrypting several gigabytes of files.

Thanks

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Move folders between folder sets
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2015, 06:21:53 AM »
No, there is on better way. This is an operation you are the second person asking about, so we did not bother to make it simpler.

So here is maybe a better instruction list:

- click onto small "i" near the folder you want to move
- on the next window note the disk image name in the disk image drop down menu
- click onto copy password button and paste the password into some text doc
- now return to folder list and right click onto folder and select force remove from database
- this will move out the disk image onto your desktop and also create a "password delete me" text doc onto your Desktop (this text doc will contain the same password you just copied out, but I want to be on the safe side)
- now move the disk image back into the ~/Library/Application Support/com.taoeffect.Espionage3/Data folder where the other disk images reside
- unlock Espionage with the other folder set password
- drag the disk image over Espionage window
- it will ask you for disk image password, paste the one you copied earlier
- it will then ask you for the mount point folder location, select the same folder you used before
This is it..

Let me know if anything unclear.

Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support