Forums temporarily locked down! Please read!

Author Topic: Timemachine different behaviour as stated  (Read 2233 times)

Bernak

  • H4X0r
  • ****
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Timemachine different behaviour as stated
« on: June 20, 2010, 01:44:01 AM »
Hello,

I followed the instructions in the tips (viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3) to backup with TM excluding the 10 Espionage protected folders I use.

I locked all of them, added them to the TM exclusion list, then unlocked them, and to my surprise, they were all gone for the TM list!
I think it auto delete them, because they change or something alike.

I am waiting for a fix before I start to backup, as I cannot use my old backup method anymore.

Any help?
Thanks!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »

greg

  • Administrator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 898
    • View Profile
    • http://www.taoeffect.com
Re: Timemachine different behaviour as stated
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2010, 05:43:34 PM »
Can you double-check that you followed the instructions correctly? Also, the disk images may not appear in the list while the folder is locked, did you try checking it when the folders are unlocked?

The opposite is also true, meaning, when the folder is unlocked, the folder won't appear in the list, but when its locked it should.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news!

greg

  • Administrator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 898
    • View Profile
    • http://www.taoeffect.com
Re: Timemachine different behaviour as stated
« Reply #2 on: June 22, 2010, 09:32:23 PM »
Espionage will now handle this for you in 2.8:

http://www.taoeffect.com/blog/2010/06/e ... smartmove/
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news!

Bernak

  • H4X0r
  • ****
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Timemachine different behaviour as stated
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2010, 03:33:12 AM »
Quote from: "greg"
Espionage will now handle this for you in 2.8:

http://www.taoeffect.com/blog/2010/06/e ... smartmove/

Great!
I added all my folders using the checkbox. Much, much easier than before!
Thanks for the improvements about Time machine, as it´s a very common backup solution for Mac users.
(Maybe the checkboxes could a little more visible, as you need to left click every folder to see if they are blocked for TM, but I am not complaining, all great!)

And SmartMove, amazing too.
:)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »

Bernak

  • H4X0r
  • ****
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: Timemachine different behaviour as stated
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2010, 04:57:37 AM »
Wanted to add a little something that could be a problem for some:

- If you add a folder to Espionage, then disable it from TM using the Espionage application and finally remove it from Espionage protection, it continues to be excluded from TM. I would suggest to be enabled again in TM, as now the Espionage backups wont handle it anymore.  :roll:

Enjoy!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »

greg

  • Administrator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 898
    • View Profile
    • http://www.taoeffect.com
Re: Timemachine different behaviour as stated
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2010, 06:51:23 AM »
Nice catch Bernak! That will be fixed in the next update.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news!

greg

  • Administrator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 898
    • View Profile
    • http://www.taoeffect.com
Re: Timemachine different behaviour as stated
« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2010, 02:02:51 AM »
Fixed in 2.8.1 (released today).
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news!