Forums temporarily locked down! Please read!

Author Topic: I get an error while creating a disk image  (Read 1119 times)

Armando

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
I get an error while creating a disk image
« on: November 18, 2016, 12:06:47 PM »
While evaluating Espionage 3, I'm trying to encrypt a folder within a set of folders. I get the attached message which (translated) says: "Error while creating a disk image - Error while copying: impossible to move ".vbt5" into "EXTRAS" because there is an element with the same name in it.  Impossible to copy any file: /Users…  See system log for details".
I tried to encrypt another folder into the primary vault and it worked. I only have trouble with this "EXTRA FOLDER" which contains some pdf files and an excel file. I even tried with a different folder and/or item names but nothing worked.
I removed Espionage (with appCleaner) and installed it again: nothing.
Could you help, please?
Thank you

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: I get an error while creating a disk image
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2016, 01:27:00 PM »
Hello Armando, this file should belong to Intego virus barrier app.

The best thing to do appears to be setting Intego VirusBarrier to "trust" the folder, or its enclosing folder, preferably before encrypting it for the first time. Encryption then appears to behave normally with VirusBarrier running.

If the folder was previously encrypted (perhaps with an earlier version of Espionage) or was under the "protection" of any version of VirusBarrier at any time in the past, then the .vbt5 invisible file must be removed before the file can be encrypted. Using iVisible (you can find it on macupdate) to make .vbt5 visible and moving it only to the trash fixes the problem and it doesn't recur.

Let me know how it went,

Rgds
Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

Armando

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: I get an error while creating a disk image
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2016, 02:27:24 PM »
It seems to work. Thanks for your help.
In case, as Terminator said: "I'll be back!".
Have a good day