Forums temporarily locked down! Please read!

Author Topic: Dropbox and Espionage: error with selected folder  (Read 5166 times)

minorjive

  • Script Kiddie
  • ***
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Dropbox and Espionage: error with selected folder
« on: August 06, 2011, 02:17:15 PM »
I'm following the directions in your Using Espionage with Dropbox blog post but running into a problem each time I try.

When I get to step 5, Adjust Dropbox’s Preferences, after I change the Dropbox folder location to the Vault folder which I've set up inside my Home directory, I get an error from Dropbox: "Error with selected folder: Target folder is on a device that does not have enough free space" (screenshot)

The thing is, disk space should not be an issue. My Dropbox folder is 29.32 GB and hard drive has 122.38 GB free space.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »

greg

  • Administrator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 898
    • View Profile
    • http://www.taoeffect.com
Re: Dropbox and Espionage: error with selected folder
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2011, 11:09:12 PM »
It sounds like the problem could be that the folder's capacity has been reached. Each encrypted folder has a limited capacity because the encrypted folders are represented by disk images. These instructions will tell you how to increase the folder's capacity:

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=83&p=192&hilit=resize#p192

In the future, we hope to make this much easier.  ;)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news!

minorjive

  • Script Kiddie
  • ***
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Dropbox and Espionage: error with selected folder
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2011, 01:30:41 AM »
That did the trick! Thanks very much. Currently watching Dropbox move all its files to the Vault folder. Presumably all will be smooth sailing from there..

One further question: am I correct to think whatever capacity I give the encrypted folder is counted against my total available disk space on my hard drive? In other words, if I set the capacity to 60 gigs, then that substracts 60 gigs from the available disk space on my hard drive, even if my DropBox folder currently only stores 30 gigs of data. If that is correct, it might be worth mentioning in the instructions, since people might not realize the the limit they pick could affect other aspects of their machine's performance.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »

mike

  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Dropbox and Espionage: error with selected folder
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2011, 07:00:25 PM »
Hi minorjive,

The disk image will grow to the fixed size, it doesn’t automatically reserve the space on the hard drive. In other words, it will only take up 30GB on the drive for now and it’ll grow with the size of your Dropbox folder until it reaches 60GB.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news!

minorjive

  • Script Kiddie
  • ***
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Dropbox and Espionage: error with selected folder
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2011, 07:21:49 PM »
Ah, great to know. Thanks!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »

marty

  • H4X0r
  • ****
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: Dropbox and Espionage: error with selected folder
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2011, 12:53:22 AM »
I'm glad that you understand better how the space is initially allocated and then increases as you store more information in the encrypted folder.

If we can be of further assistance, please let us know!

/Marty
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Tao Effect Support

follow @espionageapp on twitter for news!