[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/bbcode.php on line 483: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4668: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3815)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4670: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3815)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4671: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3815)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4672: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3815)
Tao Effect Forums • View topic - iSpy process trying to run

iSpy process trying to run

General discussion about Espionage 3.

iSpy process trying to run

Postby leighbarnes » Mon Oct 22, 2012 2:17 pm

Have an iMac 2007 running Mountain Lion and it keeps trying to start an iSpy process every 10 seconds or so. Console reports as this:

22/10/2012 16:01:48.436 com.apple.kextd[12]: Can't open CFBundle for /System/Library/Extensions/iSpy.kext.
22/10/2012 16:01:48.436 com.apple.kextd[12]: Can't open CFBundle for /System/Library/Extensions/iSpy.kext.
22/10/2012 16:01:48.436 com.apple.kextd[12]: Error: Kext /System/Library/Extensions/iSpy.kext - not found/unable to create.
22/10/2012 16:01:48.445 com.apple.launchd[1]: (com.taoeffect.ispyd) Throttling respawn: Will start in 10 seconds


Have followed all instructions about force uninstall but still running. Any other suggestions.
leighbarnes
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:36 pm

Re: iSpy process trying to run

Postby zsolt » Mon Oct 22, 2012 6:49 pm

Hello, I'm not sure which post did you read, but these are the files you have to remove to manually uninstall Espionage 2:

/Users/[your username]/Library/Application Support/Espionage
/Users/[your username]/Library/LaunchAgents/com.taoeffect.EspionageHelper.plist
/Users/[your username]/Library/Services/EspionageMenu.service (might not exist)
/System/Library/Extensions/iSpy.kext
/Library/iSpy
/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.taoeffect.ispyd.plist
/Library/LaunchDaemons/com.taoeffect.Espionage.plist (might not exist)
/Library/PrivilegedHelperTools/com.taoeffect.Espionage (might not exist)

Please verify if all these files are deleted from the system and then reboot.
Let me know if it did not help.

Rgds
Zsolt
Follow for news! | For general Mac support, please visit
zsolt
Tao Effect Support
 
Posts: 419
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:41 pm

Re: iSpy process trying to run

Postby leighbarnes » Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:20 pm

I confirm that none of these files are present on the system, I have rebooted, and still the process is attempting to run.
leighbarnes
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:36 pm

Re: iSpy process trying to run

Postby zsolt » Tue Oct 23, 2012 5:21 am

Strange
anyway, try this:

from terminal, run first:

sudo launchctl unload /Library/LaunchDaemons/com.taoeffect.ispyd.plist

it will ask you for your username password, just type it in (no characters will be shown) and hit enter.

once you did that, run this command (just in case)

sudo rm /Library/LaunchDaemons/com.taoeffect.ispyd.plist

The messages should stop right away, even without rebooting, but if they continue, please try to reboot once again.

Let me know how it went.

Rgds
Zsolt
Follow for news! | For general Mac support, please visit
zsolt
Tao Effect Support
 
Posts: 419
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:41 pm

Re: iSpy process trying to run

Postby leighbarnes » Tue Oct 23, 2012 8:17 am

All activity no stopped. Many thanks for your expert assistance.
leighbarnes
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:36 pm

Re: iSpy process trying to run

Postby leighbarnes » Tue Oct 23, 2012 10:48 am

Above should say "now stopped"
leighbarnes
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 1:36 pm

Re: iSpy process trying to run

Postby zsolt » Tue Oct 23, 2012 10:52 am

:-) I was just about to ask if it was a typo..

I'm glad it is fine now.

If you have any further questions let me know.

Rgds
Zsolt
Follow for news! | For general Mac support, please visit
zsolt
Tao Effect Support
 
Posts: 419
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:41 pm

Re: iSpy process trying to run

Postby jimmyjack » Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:09 am

HI

Question 1
I need to get document directly from the back up of the disk image in the "Application support" folder. I have the disk image (stored on an USB key), I reinstalled all my system.

How to open the encrypted image disk to get my files?
I tried my Espionage password an computer password, and it didn't work.

Question 2
I tell about espionage to my client because I like it. But I have a client who saved data in the unlock mode and the locked mode, so he have two version of the file (and he give me s**t about it, because I told him to buy Espionage).
We should not be able to save in the folder when it's lock
jimmyjack
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:08 am

Re: iSpy process trying to run

Postby zsolt » Mon Dec 10, 2012 8:47 pm

Hello

Question 1
I need to get document directly from the back up of the disk image in the "Application support" folder. I have the disk image (stored on an USB key), I reinstalled all my system.

How to open the encrypted image disk to get my files?
I tried my Espionage password an computer password, and it didn't work.
#############
If you are indeed using espionage 3, then it is a bit more complicated, or read it "secure". In Espionage 2 you had to define the password for each protect folder. Espionage 3 does this for you, this is nice as you do not have to worry about it, it is more secure because Espionage will create a reaally strong password for you, the disadvantage is that you do not know the password, only Espionage does. To get it, you have to click onto small "i" near the folder name in the espionage, and this will bring you to the folder options. Now, click onto copy password button and paste it into a text file. This is the password you can open the disk image with.
But, the dialog you get by dubleclicking the disk image does not allow you to paste the password, so you have to use disk utility to mount it, I think there you can paste the passwords.

Question 2
I tell about espionage to my client because I like it. But I have a client who saved data in the unlock mode and the locked mode, so he have two version of the file (and he give me s**t about it, because I told him to buy Espionage).
We should not be able to save in the folder when it's lock
#############
Yes and now. If the user does not use the software as he supposes to, he cannot blame the software for not getting the result he expects. But if you provide him with a nice explanation you can turn this situation in you advantage. When the folder is locked, you can place any file into the folder. Once you unlock the folder, the files will temporarily disappear and your real files will appear. So what you can do is: put some dummy files into the locked folder, some files which will mislead some potential intruder providing him with false information. He will never suspect that these are fake, because this folder does not reveal anywhere that it is protected in any way. So this is in fact a good and not a bad thing. User just have to be aware of this.
I hope this helps.

Let me know if you have further questions.
rgds
Zsolt
Follow for news! | For general Mac support, please visit
zsolt
Tao Effect Support
 
Posts: 419
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:41 pm

Re: iSpy process trying to run

Postby cpgne » Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:13 pm

I had an error window on boot that said 'couldn't communicate with iSpy', or something to that effect. I had installed the latest version of Espionage 3.0.4 on Mountain Lion. I couldn't figure out how to stop that window everytime I booted. Couldn't find an uninstall program for the latest version, but what I did was install the earlier version right on top. As soon as I did that, I was able to set preferences, than remove the first version. Now running the latest version, without any error window. Somehow, the two are tied together. My advice is install the old version, then the new version. Then you can drag the original version to the trash. P.S. I gave the new version a different name temporarily in my app folder, so the system would not be confused. You can simply add a digit to the name, like a 1. Afterwards, and after I trashed the old version, I changed the file name back to the original file name. One more P.S. > I kept the .dmg files of both, just in case. But so far, after a couple of weeks, everything is working fine.
cpgne
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:03 pm

Next

Return to Espionage 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron