Forums temporarily locked down! Please read!

Author Topic: Espionage 3 - does not work, hides my data, shuts down  (Read 1630 times)

giraffe

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Espionage 3 - does not work, hides my data, shuts down
« on: June 07, 2012, 07:29:04 AM »
Hi,
I was quite excited about Espionage 3, bought it through the MUPromo. I have to say that I did not understand correctly that it would hide my data even from myself.

I had 2 dmg sparsebundles which I used to keep data encrypt and safe. I went to my dropbox, launched it, used my data, ejected the dmg.

So now I installed Espionage 3, dragged the dmg sparsebundle into it that it manages my password, that i have an easier life to use the data...

thought wrong it seems.

it then showed a moving bar indicating it was doing something. Well, actually it wasn't doing anything, just trying to show that i have space left in my sparsebundle. Not useful from a gui point of view.

Anyway, I add my dmg. What the mountpoint is I have now idea. Wasn't explained to me. Obviously I chose the dmg. Did not work. Then I selected the mother folder (where it was in). Then my sparebundle did not appear anymore in PathFinder and not in Finder either. The complete folder where I had the dmg in ('Dropbox private') disappeared because Espionage seems to have tried to hide the 'irrelevant' files.

Now I try to find out how to access my data.

When I double-click on the dmg which is unlocked, it shows my data in a 'Finder-like' window... however when I click on it, the window disappears and Espionage goes into trailing trouble, beachball of death and shuts down. Gone. I need to start it again.

Could anyone tell me how to get my data back?
If you can tell me how to use it correctly, I'm happy to try again. Else, I am just happy to get my data back and forget about the puzzling program.

Thanks, Daniel
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Espionage 3 - does not work, hides my data, shuts down
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2012, 10:07:09 AM »
Hello Daniel,

If I understood you correct you tried to add the disk image to Espionage, or maybe the folder which was the mount point of the disk image, correct?
If yes, you have to add a regular folder to Espionage not a disk image or a folder which represents a mounted disk image.
Now it is a bit hard to understand the exact situation at your side, but answer these and I maybe get an overview:

- can you unlock Espionage 3 with your master password?
- if you can, what does show up in the folder list?
- if there is a folder, when you click on info, what is listed as mount point (just click on it and read the path) and what is listed as disk image target (same thing, just click on it and read the path)
- can you go into this folder Library/Application Support/Espionage/Data, is there any disk image inside it?

Can you run this command from the terminal:

sudo find / -name *.sparsebundle -print

It will ask you for your login password, that is normal as we have to allow find command to enter in all the folders. Please send me the output.

Thanks
Zsolt
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

giraffe

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Espionage 3 - does not work, hides my data, shuts down
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2012, 11:11:05 AM »
Thank you Zsolt for your quick reply. I shall have a look.

Yes, I added an encrypted disk image to Espionage 3. Now I understand it should have just been a regular folder.

I'll send you an answer when I have tried it out.

Daniel
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »

giraffe

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Espionage 3 - does not work, hides my data, shuts down
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2012, 02:28:08 PM »
Hi Zsolt,

The problem was the disk image. I have tried to eject it from Espionage but there is no such function. I tried backspace but that deletes the entire disk image.

Anyway, I got my files back from TimeMachine without any data loss.

So, everything is alright.

---
To answer your questions:
- I found the library but there was only a database and some other files, not my disk images.
- I saw the disk images in Espionage window but when I opened them they did not show up anywhere.
- I pointed the mountpoint and the disk image file to the same .sparsebundle. When it was closed, the disk image showed up in my finder/path finder. When I opened it, it disappeared.

For the moment I will work with my disk images because they work easily between macs with my dropbox. Later on I can try to use Espionage again and understand it before using it.

Thx Daniel
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »