Tao Effect Forums

Espionage => Espionage 3 => Topic started by: acuraice on May 31, 2012, 04:18:06 AM

Title: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: acuraice on May 31, 2012, 04:18:06 AM
every few restarts of my imac,espionage 3 is NOT launching at startup,whereas as the older version would always ask for the master password and auto unlock the specified folders every-time i restarted my imac. and yes ,open automatically at login is checked off in the preferences!!! i could force it to launch every-time by adding it to my login items menu in my user accounts preferences in lion,but i never had to do that before and it always worked with the older version. just another bug in the newest version. I wonder if has to do with ispy kext not loading properly at startup??? please look into this. perhaps this will be fixed with the latest update 3.0.1 on the mac app store after it posts within the next few days???
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: greg on May 31, 2012, 04:33:26 PM
acuraice, check to make sure that Espionage 3 is in the Applications folder, and then double-check the preferences to make sure the "At login" checkbox is checked. If it is, try unchecking it and then re-checking it.
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: acuraice on June 01, 2012, 02:45:00 AM
it is in the apps folder! i did the unchecking and rechecking it thing. i will let you know what happens next time i do a restart on my imac. if it doesnt work,i will just manually add espionage to my login items to make sure it gets started as the imac boots up since i noticed that even if start at login is checked off,it doesnt show it in the login items in the user accounts /preferences in lion. could be whats causing the error.
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: jacobsm on June 01, 2012, 09:47:40 PM
The same problem happened with me. I selected the option to open at boot up, and it never did. I also had to manually add it to my login items,
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: acuraice on June 02, 2012, 02:24:37 AM
the option is to open at login is definitely broken. Even when i added it manually to my login items in my system preferences,it's still hit or miss if it launches at startup. Also if it does do it,it sometimes crashes after you put in the correct master password after the first try. the menu item will disappear from the menu until you go into your applications folder and re-open espionage,then re enter your password,then click on the menu item for espionage and re-enter your master password again. very very annoying! i miss  the older version  of espionage !! worked way better!! this new version is buggy,ugly and totally half-assed,and offers zero benefits over the older version. same 256 encryption,same auto unlock and auto lock features,same launch at startup feature(ha,when it actually does work)   :x why the hell did they do this to us???????
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: zsolt on June 03, 2012, 07:37:19 AM
Hello Acuraice,

So far 3 users reported this problem, two in this forum and one through support ticket.
At the time you start EspionageV3 for the first time, it asks you if you want it to start at login (and says it is recommended), I said "yes" at that time, and had never problems with it.
So it seems that for most of the users it works fine.

I tried now to uncheck it, it did not launch on boot after that. Then I checked it again, and it launched after boot.
So it works consistent for me.
The fact that it is not present in the login items is OK, because there are other ways to start an application at login time, in this case the LaunchAgent is used.

First question:
- did you accepted the default setting at the time of installation i.e. that is launches on startup, or you first said no and then later on tried to enable it?
- second, in case the launch at login is enabled now, can you please start terminal and write the following commands

launchctl
list

(to quit launchctl just write quit and hit enter)

The in the list output you get, search if you can find these entries:
200   -   [0x0-0x1b01b].com.taoeffect.Espionage3
-   0   com.taoeffect.Espionage3Helper

Do they appear?

Thanks for your assistance, and sorry that I did not reply till now, I had huge email volume due to new version launch.

Rgds
Zsolt
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: acuraice on June 03, 2012, 12:40:45 PM
no need to attempt your terminal process. i have since fixed this on my own. yes,i did choose "yes" when first asked,and checked the open at login box. but still had issues at startup. i then manually added it to my login items and still it only started 1 out of 4 restarts,and even then after entering the correct master password it would crash and the menu item would appear in the menu then disappear from the menu. I found that by arranging it as dead last in the login items window that t seems to be working correctly now. perhaps one of my other startup items was conflicting with the launch agent at startup?? i know the one app magic window is very processor intensive and usually takes a few seconds to load even with my powerful 3.4 ghz quad core i7 with 16 gigs of ram!! Now everything seems to be working correctly finally. If it starts acting weird again,i will attempt your terminal command. Thank you for all your help.
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: zsolt on June 03, 2012, 01:38:49 PM
OK, as you wish. As said, it should not be required to be in the login items, and it might be that later on you even run into problems with it because it will be attempted to be started twice, once form the LaunchAgents and once from Login Items, but as long as it works fine for you, leave it as it is.

Thanks for replying and enjoy using it.

Rgds
Zsolt
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: acuraice on June 11, 2012, 05:04:00 PM
update: had been working with my method of unchecking and rechecking the open at login preference AND in conjunction with manually adding espionage 3 into my login items in lion's preferences by listing dead last on the list of login items not to conflict is now NOT launching properly 99% of the restarted times and/or launching "2" instances of espionage in the menu bar,when in reality only 1 app itself is installed (ALL older espionage traces completely removed!!) or it launches asks you to enter the master password in the middle of you imacs screen and then proceeds to do nothing,hence the auto-unlock!! you must then re-renter your master password again in the espionage menu item thingy. VERY ANNOYING!! the old version was superior to this in everyway possible!!!!  Please read my most recent post about how like myself there are a ton of very unhappy Espionage customers on the mac app store,not even counting the pissed off ones on macupdate.com. Disgusting.  :cry:

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=632 (http://www.taoeffect.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=632)
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: zsolt on June 11, 2012, 08:42:53 PM
Hello Acuraice,

I told you :-)

If you have some time and patience we can try to troubleshoot this if not then we leave it as it is.
We did not have many reports like your, indeed, less then 0.5% of users reported problems when the auto start at login is enabled, what would happen is that the app would start and crash right away. Disabling the auto start and starting it upon logging in by hand would fix the issue. Also, in some cases the the Lion's "reopen the windows from last session" or however it is, created a crash even if the startup was not on. So in some cases it seems that these two options might create some problems.

If you would test for us and send the crash logs then maybe we can figure out where the problem is. However if you decide to do so, please open a support ticket as it will be easier to handle the logs there.

Thanks
Zsolt
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: acuraice on June 11, 2012, 09:59:52 PM
has nothing to do with the checking and unchecking trick. that doesnt enable or disable shit. thats probably the problem. but the way i had it it was working flawlessly like the older version for weeks. Now after a reboot or so,everytime it asks to enter the masted password in the center of the screen if you enter it it will crash immediately. The trick is to enter it in the menu bar icon thing first ,then enter the master password in the center field of the screen,then it works without crashing,but then you must manually turn on or unlock the folders you want unlocked,regardless of the settings to auto unlock. this bug has happened 99% of the time since i have used the newer version. iam seriously thinking of reverting back to the older version,that does work way better except for every time you try to restore a problem 4 out 5 times there is some BS error that the folder couldnt be restored properly,yet the folder does get restored properly. these bugs must be happening on your testing versions as well. are you running 10.7.4 or mountain lion beta(im on 10.7.4) are you on a quad core i7 like me or a dou or quad core i3,i5?? these are things we need to slim down. i just dont feel like fixing what wasnt broken before. totally hate the new version,its been nothing but headaches when the older version was da bomb.com
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: sjf_control on June 11, 2012, 10:03:49 PM
Welcome to Tao Effect's "New Coke"!  :D
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: acuraice on June 11, 2012, 10:22:19 PM
by zsolt » Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:53 am

iSpy is not there in V3 any more, it should have been gone once you uninstalled V2.
This is why there is no more password prompt when you click on the folder in Finder....we made is simpler...
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support
zsolt
Tao Effect Support
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 4:41 pm
Top
Re: How do I uninstall Espionage 3
by acuraice » Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:16 pm

i think the ispykext file does still exist,and maybe thats why these errors are occurring! at least for me. when i boot up in single user mode(command S) and then shutdown the computer it hangs for a few scripts saying something along the lines of error ispy.kext.... i believe there are traces of it still somewhere on the system even though i used an appcleaner that removes ALL traces of the application before it securely deletes them entirely. strange,very strange. i will try to make a note of the exact error displayed while logging out/shutting down with single user mode enabled.
acuraice
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 7:01 pm
Top
Re: How do I uninstall Espionage 3
by acuraice » Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:21 pm

a ha!! i just did a search with a program called better search that actually finds stuff unlike apple's spotlight and the built in search function,even when the entire system's contents have been freshly indexed but anyway it found many results for the ispy.kext still found on my system even after uninstalling the older version many times with appcleaner and cleanmymac's uninstaller functions that finds and removes all traces of data associated with uninstalling user applications. I wonder if the ispy.kext has system privileges and is not letting the uninstallers completely remove it from my system even though no errors were thrown from wither app when i did the many uninstallations. i will try to manually remove all traces of the ispy.kext and then see if these errors/bugs continue to happen. are you sure that the new version does indeed NOT use the ispy.kext file at all before i completely remove all traces of it and then the new version will be screwed up????
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: acuraice on June 11, 2012, 10:51:15 PM
ITS WORKING AS IT SHOULD NOW!! by that i mean launching properly and auto unlocking properly!! i totally removed all traces of the ispy.kext file from the older version that had somehow escaped both uninstaller programs and now it is working as it should. but it is still annoying how you have to enter the measter password twice both in center screen prompt and the menu item prompt ,why doesnt it just unlock the menu item as well at the same time as the old one did???? bring back that feature please
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: zsolt on June 12, 2012, 06:08:06 AM
Hello Acuraice,
Thanks for input, this will help me supporting other users with this problem.
Zsolt
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: acuraice on June 12, 2012, 11:08:21 AM
you're very welcome sir!! you knew you weren't crazy by supporting the new version defending it was not buggy and worked as intended,i knew i wasnt crazy defending that it was buggy and wasnt working properly as it should however the real culprit was the older ispy.kext causing all the errors i was explaining about!! i apologize to you i fi have offended you in any way. i did mention in my rants that i do NOT hate the developers in any way and love espionage completely,i just was growing to hate the new version based on all the trouble it was giving me! i apologize again for the inconvenience
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: zsolt on June 12, 2012, 08:53:21 PM
No offense taken, we are all humans and react like them, and if you lose your valuable data you are not in the best mood. I'm working for a long time in tech support and I've seen this many times. All I can say is that anger does not help to fix the problem. I know it is hard to relax and think with clear head, but this is what brings you to the solution eventually.

I'm glad it works now for you and just go ahead and give it hard time, whatever goes wrong we will learn out of it. Keep a good backup and there will always be a way back.

Thanks for your patience,
Zsolt
Title: another user having this problem
Post by: pierce inverarity on July 28, 2012, 09:45:58 PM
I finally got around to installing E3 and I am having this issue as well.  When I was installing, I did choose to automatically start at login.  It even worked once, the first time I restarted after install.  But after that it has never worked.  

Every time I restart, when I manually start up Espionage to view the preferences, the "open automatically at login" checkbox is unchecked.  I check it again, but when I restart, Espionage doesn't start up and when I view preferences that box is unchecked again.

Per one of your suggestions, I even tried checking it, quitting, unchecking it, restarting, and re-checking it -- but upon the next restart, it again failed to start up and when I went into preferences the box was unchecked again.

Zsolt, it sounds like you've dealt with this problem from a few people... what do you recommend?

Thanks,
Rich
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: zsolt on July 29, 2012, 07:36:41 PM
Well, try what I suggested before:

launchctl
list

(to quit launchctl just write quit and hit enter)

The in the list output you get, search if you can find these entries:
200   -   [0x0-0x1b01b].com.taoeffect.Espionage3
-   0   com.taoeffect.Espionage3Helper

See if this value appears after you enable the open at login, and then reboot and check again.

Let me know the outcome.

Thanks
Zsolt
Title: RE: another user having this problem
Post by: pierce inverarity on July 29, 2012, 08:00:15 PM
Hi - Thank you for the help.  

1. Checked "open at login" box, then did launchctl list.  It showed the following:
-       0       com.taoeffect.Espionage3Helper
318     -       [0x0-0x24024].com.taoeffect.Espionage3

2. Rebooted, then did launchctl list.  The above lines were both gone, no mention of Espionage.

3. Manually started Espionage, then did launchctl list (without re-checking the box first).  It showed:
307     -       [0x0-0x2a02a].com.taoeffect.Espionage3

4. Checked the "open at login" box again (which was now unchecked as always when I start up), then did launchctl list.  It showed:
-       0       com.taoeffect.Espionage3Helper
307     -       [0x0-0x2a02a].com.taoeffect.Espionage3


Does this provide any clues?

Rich
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: zsolt on July 30, 2012, 08:58:01 AM
Hello, I forwarded your findings to the dev team and am discussing this. So far all I know is that there seems to be a general issue with login items on Lion.
I'll update when I get further info.
Rgds
Zsolt
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: pierce inverarity on September 21, 2012, 08:12:05 PM
Just checking to see if there is any update on this issue? Espionage still fails to launch at startup, 100% of the time.  I can manually start it so no huge deal, but it would be nice to get it fixed eventually.
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: zsolt on September 22, 2012, 06:55:18 PM
Hello Pierce,

The strange thing is that since this conversation, no one else reported this problem. By default the start at login option is selected, so if this problem would be widespread then we would see a lot more reports on it.
If you are willing, we can take a look into this together and try to figure out what is wrong. I would do this over remote session.
Would you be interested in this?

Rgds
Zsolt
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: pierce inverarity on September 23, 2012, 09:08:37 PM
I think I figured it out... I am pretty sure that it was a startup item associated with another program (Things) that was somehow tripping up the Espionage startup.  The Things item wasn't starting up correctly either... when I disabled that, suddenly Espionage seems to have started working.  So I am all set, thanks!
Title: Re: NOT LAUNCHING AT STARTUP !!!
Post by: zsolt on September 24, 2012, 06:12:11 PM
Thanks a lot for your input, and I'm glad you figured it out.
If any other problem or questions comes up, just let me know.

Rgds
Zsolt