Tao Effect Forums

Espionage => Espionage 3 => Topic started by: Beleriand on October 23, 2013, 08:30:33 PM

Title: How to Open V.2 after installing V.3?
Post by: Beleriand on October 23, 2013, 08:30:33 PM
Hi, I upgraded to Espionage 3, but am having a problem moving my files into the application.  According to your FAQ, I have to remove the files from Espionage 2.  If that means only unlock them, I've done that, but still cannot drag them into v.3.  If it means something else, I just get a chime when I try to open V.2.

I did read in a post to reinstall v.2, but I do not see that anywhere on the Tao Effect website.

So, what to do to use version 3?

Title: Re: How to Open V.2 after installing V.3?
Post by: tylerstringer on October 23, 2013, 10:03:14 PM
I am having the same issue.  I upgraded to Mavericks thus forcing the upgrade to Espionage 3 but  3 can;t see the files from 2...  Please help us.
Title: Re: How to Open V.2 after installing V.3?
Post by: greg on October 24, 2013, 05:15:37 PM
Dear Beleriand and tylerstringer,

Hi, I upgraded to Espionage 3, but am having a problem moving my files into the application.  According to your FAQ, I have to remove the files from Espionage 2.  If that means only unlock them, I've done that, but still cannot drag them into v.3.  If it means something else, I just get a chime when I try to open V.2.

To go from 2 -> 3 you need to remove the folders from Espionage 2, and by that we mean restore/decrypt them. The best way to do that is to uninstall Espionage 2 using its built-in uninstall (choose "Uninstall Espionage..." from the Espionage menu). You can also manually remove them by selecting them and pressing the delete key, or clicking on the minus button in the lower left corner of the main window.

Did you do that?

If you did something else, that's probably the cause of the trouble, and yes, the best thing would be to re-install Espionage 2, which you can get here:

https://www.taoeffect.com/espionage/download/Espionage.dmg

If you have Espionage 3 installed and running, then you'll need to quit Espionage 3 before opening Espionage 2 (otherwise Espionage 2 will refuse to open). You can reopen version 3 after you're done restoring the folders.

If you're still running into problems after trying all of that, please post or link to some screenshots to of the folders in the Finder to give us a better idea of what's going on. You can also email them to us: support at taoeffect dot com.
Title: Re: How to Open V.2 after installing V.3?
Post by: Beleriand on October 24, 2013, 06:30:31 PM
Greg,

I somehow missed that files had to be removed from Version 2.   I followed your instructions to reinstall Version 2, uninstall it, and then move the file files to Version 3.   It worked perfectly!

Many thanks!
Title: Re: How to Open V.2 after installing V.3?
Post by: greg on October 24, 2013, 07:02:44 PM
Greg,

I somehow missed that files had to be removed from Version 2.   I followed your instructions to reinstall Version 2, uninstall it, and then move the file files to Version 3.   It worked perfectly!

Many thanks!

Glad all's working fine now! :)