Urgent: Help (is a BUG?) - Master Password and Set Password

Started by netofrombrazil, May 04, 2013, 02:39:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

netofrombrazil

I have a Master password: ABCD

I create a new folder set password called XYZ

I log on using XYZ
And I changed the password to ABCD (Espionage 3 allowed me to do it)

And now I cannot see any encrypt folders because I cannot access my master password anymore.

PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!

netofrombrazil

I really cannot believe that Espionage 3 did allow me to do this. IMHO this is not good. At all.

Guys, how can we solve it? I mean how can we avoid it to happen again? I was lucky that I have a backup.

Could you please take a look serious on this?

zsolt

Hello Antonio, I just replied you in the support ticket.

Rgds
Zsolt
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

netofrombrazil

Hi Zsolt,

This is neto from Brazil

How are you?

Thank you. I already replied with the steps to reproduce the problem

Thank you

neto

netofrombrazil

Hi Zsolt,

This is neto from Brazil

How are you?

Thank you very much for your time today in our remote session. I am happy that you could see and understand the problem.

Looking forward to hearing from you with good news and THE PATCH

Thank you very much for your outstanding support.

neto

zsolt

Hello Neto, the bug is submitted, I will update you as soon as I hear from product manager and developers
There is one way to recover from this, by reverting to an older copy of the Espionage database.
Basically, you should go back to an older copy of the database, recover the data you encrypted, then move again to latest version of database and add the data back, or create a new folder set with a new password and add the restored folders there.
It is just a workaround not a solution at all, but worth considering to avoid data loss.

Rgds
Zsolt