Clarification requested

Started by harringg, May 29, 2012, 07:47:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

harringg

I currently have a DevonThink Professional Office folder encrypted in Espionage2.  I launch DTPO and get prompted for a password, enter it, and access my databases, .dt2base files.  Quit DTPO and it re-encrypts it.  Perfect workflow.

/Users/MyAccount/Documents/DevonThinkProOffice/Locked-DTPO

If I read correctly, in Espionage3, I'll need to keep the folder unlocked while logged in or use FileVault (I've never used it before).  If I need to keep it unlocked all the time, whether DTPO is running or not, defeats the purpose of encryption.  Using FileVault defeats the purpose of upgrading to E3.

This is literally the only reason I use Espionage 2, that single folder, nothing else is encrypted with it.  My DTPO database contains taxes, paystubs, receipts, and other PII (personally identifiable information).

Should I stick with E2 in this workflow?

zsolt

Hello Harringg,

You are correct, the application protection, i.e. the automatic unlock and lock when an application is lauched/quit is not present in V3.
The application protection started to become a challenge to maintain it working perfect so the V3 focused on being simple and reliable for a start. The application protection might show up again in future revisions but for the time being it is not there.

If you use a screen saver with password then your mac should be protected whenever started and you are not present, or if you put it to sleep and it requires password upon wake. If you log out or shut down, the V3 will lock the folder so you are safe again. If you use the unlock on logon option then you do not have to remember to unlock the folder before starting the app.

Indeed, it is not so convenient as in V2. So you can give it a second thought or stick to V2 for the moment.

Let me know if you have further questions.
Rgds
Zsolt

EDIT: as mentioned below, Espionage 3.5 makes this much easier now.