Forums temporarily locked down! Please read!

Author Topic: Protecting Firefox  (Read 5301 times)

cgc

  • Script Kiddie
  • ***
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Protecting Firefox
« on: December 15, 2012, 07:50:40 PM »
Hello, I'm running Espionage 2.8.13 and Firefox 17.01 in OSX Lion 10.7.5.  I just configured Espionage to protect Firefox using the Firefox Application Template but when I tried opening Firefox it asked me to select a profile.  I don't have any Firefox profiles and don't know what to do.  Are Espionage 2 and Firefox 17 compatible and if so how do I get them to play nicely?  Thanks.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Protecting Firefox
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2012, 06:25:17 AM »
Hello,
This problem usually happens when Firefox cannot find it's preferences and profile data. Your profile data is created when you start up Firefox for the first time, but after you add it to Espionage, the data is encrypted, so if it is not decrypted at the moment Firefox starts, it will assume there is no profile data and ask you to select one.

Please do two things:
- try to unlock firefox protected folders from Espionage manually, before you launch Firefox, and once unlocked, try to launch Firefox and see if it works#
- collect me the diagnostic report data as written here viewtopic.php?f=3&t=434 and send it over to me.

Thanks
Zsolt
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

cgc

  • Script Kiddie
  • ***
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Protecting Firefox
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2012, 12:05:46 PM »
Thanks.  I emailed the report as requested.  This isn't really an error but it seems Espionage isn't decrypting the profile prior to Firefox requesting access to the data within.  If I decrypt the two Firefox folders prior to opening Firefox it opens normally.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Protecting Firefox
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2012, 06:55:51 PM »
Hello, now I remembered what was the trick.
Thanks for the test.
Right click onto Firefox application and select show contents, then go into Contents folder, MacOS and there you will see a file named firefox and firefox-bin
Now open the Espionage, select the firefox, and click on edit application association, you will see the firefox there, just add the firefox-bin too and then give it another try.

Thanks
Zsolt
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

cgc

  • Script Kiddie
  • ***
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Protecting Firefox
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2012, 11:05:33 AM »
That did it.  BTW, there are two folders that must be associated to the binaries within the Firefox package.  Thanks.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Protecting Firefox
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2012, 12:31:42 PM »
Great to hear it works now...which 2 folders do you refer to?
Thanks
Zsolt
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

smithk

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Protecting Firefox
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2013, 08:57:03 AM »
We always have one problem with Firefox browser that they suddenly stop working and show crash report message...?? what am i doing
http://lifetimecoupons.com/
« Last Edit: May 08, 2013, 06:21:27 AM by smithk »

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Protecting Firefox
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2013, 04:05:40 PM »
Is the Firefox protected with Espionage?
If it is, I suggest unprotecting it first and see if the problem persists. If it does, then it is not an Espionage problem. The reason I'm taking this approach is that an app can crash for many reasons, so I would like to exclude Espionage as a reason first.

Rgds
Zsolt
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support

marioz

  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Protecting Firefox
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2013, 07:47:21 PM »
Quote from: "zsolt"
Is the Firefox protected with Espionage?
If it is, I suggest unprotecting it first and see if the problem persists. If it does, then it is not an Espionage problem. The reason I'm taking this approach is that an app can crash for many reasons, so I would like to exclude Espionage as a reason first.

Rgds
Zsolt

Yes dear it it perfect for Espionage.. i try it many times
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »

zsolt

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
    • View Profile
Re: Protecting Firefox
« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2013, 02:23:19 PM »
Is there anything I can help you with?
Rgds
Zsolt
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 11:00:00 PM by Guest »
Follow @espionageapp on twitter for news! | For general Mac support, please visit Mac Me Support